ESSA regularly awards the best student paper and the best student poster at its annual conferences. The awards are 350 Euros for the best paper and 150 Euros for the best poster. The awards are decided through an independent, anonymous review process that involves members of the ESSA MC and the conference organisers. The candidates for the best student paper award are identified on the basis of the ratings received by independent, anonymous conference reviewers. Members of the ESSA MC and the local organisers attend their presentation at the conference and consult for the final decision. The best poster award is decided upon a review process at the conference by independent, anonymous evaluations by MC members who rate the posters according to their relevance, innovativeness and clarity. The winners are celebrated during the closing ceremony of the conference.

ESSA has established in 2014 a Distinguished Dissertation Award. The award is 500 Euros, is assigned biannually and goes to the best PhD dissertation in social simulation by an ESSA PhD student member. A call for applications is announced on the ESSA website and newsletter. The selection is made independently by at least two MC members and the final decision is made by the MC in a meeting. The winners are celebrated during the closing ceremony of the conference.

ESSA has recently established an Outstanding Contribution Award for Social Simulation. The award will be celebrated at SSCs. The award will be given to a scientist who stood out for his/her contribution to the development of social simulation worldwide. The decision will be made by the MC through anonymous votes. The award will be only symbolic and will be celebrated during the closing ceremony of the SSCs.

Social Simulation Conference 2023 Best student poster award: Lukas Schubotz

At the 2023 Social Simulation Confernece, Lukas Schubotz was awarded the best student poster award for the paper “Beyond the Horizon: Empirical Exploration of Opinion Dynamics via Inverse Modelling”, co-authored with supervisors Émile Chappin and Geeske Scholz. Lucas is a PhD student at Technical University Delft.

Social Simulation Conference 2023: Best student paper award – Louise Dupuis de Tarlé

Louise Dupuis de Tarlé received the best student paper award at SSC23 for the paper titled “Exploring Opinion Diversity and Epistemic Success with an Argumentative Model”, co-authored with supervisors Gabriella Pigozzi and Juliette Rouchier. Louise is a PhD student at LAMSADE, Universit´e Paris-Dauphine PSL.

Social Simulation Conference 2022 Best Student Poster: Eduardo C. Ferraciolli

Congratulations to Eduardo C. Ferraciollir, whose poster entitled, “Search theory, conventionality and the “emergence of money”: an agent-based model in the context of economic sociology” won the ESSA Best Student Poster prize at SSC 2022 in Milano.

Social Simulation Conference 2022: Best Student Paper winner Cristina Chueca del Carro

Cristina Chueca del Carro (University of Glasgow, UK) was awarded for the Best Student Conference Paper at SSC2022, Milano, Italy. The paper was entitled “The power of social networks and social media’s filter bubble in shaping attitudes: An agent-based model”. Cristina is the sole author of the paper.

Social Simulation Conference 2021 Best reviewed student paper award: Patrick Reinwald

The 2021 Social Simulation Conference and the bet student paper award was given based on the reviews rather than reviews plus presentation to compensate for the fact that the conference was in hybrid format. It was award to Patrick Reinwald (joint work with Stephan Leitner and Friederike Wall) for the paper: “Effects of limited and heterogeneous memory in hidden-action situations”

Distinguished Dissertation Award 2022: Alys Mary McAlpine

Alys Mary McAlpine (University of London) received the Distinguished Dissertation Award in 2022 for her thesis entitled: “Mediated labour migration in the Myanmar-Thailand corridor and precarious outcomes: a mixed methods social network analysis and agent-based model”. She received his prize during the Social Simulation Conference on September 16, 2022.

Fourth Rosaria Conte Outstanding Contribution Award for Social Simulation award: Klaus Troitzsch

Prof. Dr. Klaus Troitzsch was awarded the “Rosaria Conte” Outstanding Award for Social Simulation during the Social Simulation Conference on September 16, 2022.

September 18, 2020

Third Rosaria Conte Outstanding Contribution Award for Social Simulation award: Joshua Epstein

Prof. Joshua Epstein was the winner of the Third “Rosaria Conte” Outstanding Award for Social Simulation, which was assigned at the Social Simulation Week, 18 september 2020.

September 18, 2020

Distinguished Dissertation Award 2020: Dhanan Utomo

Dhanan Utomo (Lancaster University Management School) received the Distinguished Dissertation Award in 2020 for his thesis entitled: “Improving and Comparing Data Collection Methodologies for Decision Rule Calibration in Agent-Based Simulation. A Case Study of Dairy Supply Chain in Indonesia”. He received his prize at the Social Simulation Week, where he gave a talk on the work in his thesis.

September 27, 2019

Social Simulation Conference 2019 Best Student Paper: Dan Glikstein

Congratulations to Dan Glikstein from Harvard University for winning the ESSA Best Student Paper award at SSC 2019 in Mainz. His paper was entitled, “Analyzing the very-short-term dynamics of media effects on attitudes through agent-based simulation using a quasi-natural XML-based language.”

Become a Member

Being an ESSA member means to be active part of a vivid and growing multi-disciplinary community, obtain benefits and discounts to participate to annual ESSA meetings, promote your research to a wide audience and find collaboration opportunities. Annual fees are 50 € for tenured academics, postdoctoral students, practitioners and public/private organisation employees and 30 € for under, postgraduate and PhD students. Membership is administered through Wild Apricot.

Become a member Join us Renew your membership Support Essa and renew your annual fee
Institutional Members

© 2015-2024 European Social Simulation Association (ESSA).