The SIG on Education aims to bring complexity thinking and social simulation to an educational setting broader than only universities and develop our next generations into one in which thinking in terms of complex systems is more central than it is now.  It aims to collect and develop exemplary material for use inside and outside schools, specific to various age groups, consider and develop trainings and training materials for teachers, think about toys embracing complexity for young children and find appropriate arenas and participate in the debate around educational reforms and voice the need for complexity thinking. It also aims to provide platforms to share experiences of complexity thinking in education.

The SIG-Education leader is Emile Chappin (TU Delft).

Members are: Bin Wang, Bruce Edmonds, Cara Heather Kahl (Technical University Hamburg), César García-Díaz (Universidad de los Andes), Cezara Pastrav, Christopher Coughlin (Springer), Derek Raine (University of Leicester), Edmund Chattoe-Brown (University of Leicester), Florin Munteanu, Francesco Kalvas (University of West Bohemia), Geeske Schotz, Gert Jan Hofstede (Wageningen University), Gönenç Yücel, Helder Coelho, Jennifer Badham (University of Surrey), Jorge Santos, Josip Stepanic, Kavin Narasimhan, Ken Kahn, Mary MacKay, Melania Borit, Nanda Wijermans (Stockholm University), Rosaldo J. F. Rossetti, Sjoukje Osinga, S Anders Christensson, Shihua Li, Tatiana Filatova (University of Twente) and Wander Jager (University of Groningen).

Become a Member

Being an ESSA member means to be active part of a vivid and growing multi-disciplinary community, obtain benefits and discounts to participate to annual ESSA meetings, promote your research to a wide audience and find collaboration opportunities. Annual fees are 50 € for tenured academics, postdoctoral students, practitioners and public/private organisation employees and 30 € for under, postgraduate and PhD students.

Become a member Contact Essa anc join us.
Institutional Members

© 2015 European Social Simulation Association (ESSA).